There is a newer version of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes
View our newest version here
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Pennsylvania may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
Get free summaries of new opinions delivered to your inbox!
--A person is guilty of forgery if, with intent to defraud or injure anyone, or with knowledge that he is facilitating a fraud or injury to be perpetrated by anyone, the actor: (1) alters any writing of another without his authority; (2) makes, completes, executes, authenticates, issues or transfers any writing so that ...What is the crime code 4111 in PA? ›
A person commits a misdemeanor of the second degree if he destroys, removes, conceals, encumbers, transfers or otherwise deals with property subject to a security interest or after levy has been made thereon with intent to hinder enforcement of such interest. § 4111.What is forgery in PA Title 18? ›
Forgery is a felony of the third degree if the writing is or purports to be a will, deed, contract, release, commercial instrument, or other document evidencing, creating, transferring, altering, terminating, or otherwise affecting legal relations. Otherwise forgery is a misdemeanor of the first degree.What is the crime code for fraudulent checks in PA? ›
Section 4105 - Title 18 - CRIMES AND OFFENSES. § 4105. Bad checks. (1) A person commits an offense if he issues or passes a check or similar sight order for the payment of money, knowing that it will not be honored by the drawee.What is the penalty for forgery in PA? ›
Upon conviction, a defendant will be sentenced to a seven year imprisonment sentence and/or a fine of up to $15,000. All other instances of forgery will be charged as a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to five years in prison and/or a fine of $10,000.What is the punishment for M2 in PA? ›
A conviction for a misdemeanor in the 2nd degree in Pennsylvania includes from 1 to 2 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. This may include crimes such as: Bigamy.
--A person commits a misdemeanor of the first degree if, knowing that he has no privilege to do so, he falsifies, destroys, removes or conceals any writing or record, or distinguishing mark or brand or other identification with intent to deceive or injure anyone or to conceal any wrongdoing.What is the crime code 4114 in PA? ›
§ 4114. Securing execution of documents by deception.
A person commits a misdemeanor of the second degree if by deception he causes another to execute any instrument affecting or purporting to affect or likely to affect the pecuniary interest of any person.
Examples of second-degree felonies in Pennsylvania include: Statutory sexual assault (when the alleged victim is under 16 years old, and you are four years older but less than eight years older; OR you are eight years older than the victim, but less than 11 years older)What is Title 18 tampering with evidence in PA? ›
Section 4910 - Title 18 - CRIMES AND OFFENSES. § 4910. Tampering with or fabricating physical evidence. (2) makes, presents or uses any record, document or thing knowing it to be false and with intent to mislead a public servant who is or may be engaged in such proceeding or investigation.
In Pennsylvania, a person is guilty of forgery if, with intent to defraud or injure anyone, or with knowledge that he or she is facilitating a fraud or injury to be perpetrated by another person, the actor: alters any writing of another without that person's authority.What is the statute of limitations for Title 18 in PA? ›
1) Major sexual offenses. --Except as provided in section 5551(7) (relating to no limitation applicable), a prosecution for any of the following offenses under Title 18 must be commenced within 12 years after it is committed: Section 3121 (relating to rape). Section 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual assault).What are the red flags for fraudulent checks? ›
Red flags for mail-related check fraud
Non-characteristic, sudden, abnormal deposit of checks, often electronically, followed by rapid withdrawal or transfer of funds. Examination of suspect checks reveals faded handwriting underneath darker handwriting, making the original writing appear overwritten.
First degree misdemeanor: If the check is $1,000 or more but less than $75,000. A defendant can be sentenced to up to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000. Third degree felony: If the check is $75,000 or more, of if it is a defendant's third or subsequent offense within a five-year period.What is an example of a fraudulent check? ›
The buyer “mistakenly” sends a check for more than is expected and asks the victim to return the extra cash. Weeks later, the financial institution discovers the check was fraudulent and you have to pay for the whole amount.How long is a sentence for forgery? ›
Penalties for Forgery
The maximum sentence for the misdemeanor is one year of jail. Felony forgery carries a maximum of three years in jail. The exception to this rule is a forged document such as a check or money order which is an instrument to these crimes.
Forgery is a felony of the third degree if the writing is or purports to be a will, deed, contract, release, commercial instrument, or other document evidencing, creating, transferring, altering, terminating, or otherwise affecting legal relations. Otherwise forgery is a misdemeanor of the first degree.What is the statute of limitations for forgery in PA? ›
The statute of limitations on forgery cases is 5 years, however, if you are convicted of forgery the punishments for committing this crime in the state of Pennsylvania are determined by the level of offense with which you have been convicted.What is a grade M2 charge in PA? ›
Most simple assaults are classified as a second degree misdemeanor in Pennsylvania. An M2 for simple assault is punishable by up to 2 years in prison. In cases where the simple assault results from a mutual fight, it will be a third degree misdemeanor –or M3, punishable by up to one year in prison.Can you get probation for a felony 3 in PA? ›
§1101 et seq. **For example, if an offender is convicted of a Felony 3rd degree, the judge may not fashion a sentence of probation or incarceration that exceeds 7 years in length or $15,000 in fines.
Felony, Third Degree (F3) Ungraded Felony. Misdemeanor, First Degree (M1) Misdemeanor, Second Degree (M2) Misdemeanor, Third Degree (M3)What is the statute 18 4104 in PA? ›
§ 4104. Tampering with records or identification.What is pa crimes code 4118? ›
A person commits a felony of the third degree if, with intent to deceive anyone or with knowledge that the person is facilitating a deception to be perpetrated by anyone concerning the true mileage of a motor vehicle, the person makes or causes to be made an application for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle ...What is pa rules of criminal procedure 405? ›
Rule 405 - Methods of Proving Character (a)By Reputation. When evidence of a person's character or character trait is admissible, it may be proved by testimony about the person's reputation. Testimony about the witness's opinion as to the character or character trait of the person is not admissible.What is crimes code 912 in PA? ›
--A person commits a misdemeanor of the first degree if he possesses a weapon in the buildings of, on the grounds of, or in any conveyance providing transportation to or from any elementary or secondary publicly-funded educational institution, any elementary or secondary private school licensed by the Department of ...What is Rule 519 in PA crimes Code? ›
(1) Except as provided in paragraph (B), when a defendant has been arrested without a warrant in a court case, a complaint shall be filed against the defendant and the defendant shall be afforded a preliminary arraignment by the proper issuing authority without unnecessary delay.What is crimes code 3927 in PA? ›
§ 3927. Theft by failure to make required disposition of funds received. (a) Offense defined.How long does a felony stay on your record in Pennsylvania? ›
Any felony or misdemeanor conviction can be expunged if there has been no criminal supervision in the preceding 10 years.What is the penalty for a felony 3 in PA? ›
(8) For a felony of the third degree, a fine of not less than $2,500 nor exceeding $15,000, or imprisonment not exceeding seven years, or both. (9) For a felony of the second degree, a fine of not less than $5,000 nor more than $25,000, or imprisonment not exceeding ten years, or both.What is the maximum sentence for a felony 3 in PA? ›
(4) A crime is a felony of the third degree if it is so designated in this title or if a person convicted thereof may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment, the maximum of which is not more than seven years. (5) A crime declared to be a felony, without specification of degree, is of the third degree.
Under 18 Pa. Code § 6318, unlawful contact with a minor is any person who intentionally contacts a minor (or an undercover officer) with the purpose of engaging in: Any offense described in Chapter 31, Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Code (pertaining to sexual offenses) Open lewdness.What is pa Title 18 false swearing? ›
--A person is guilty of perjury, a felony of the third degree, if in any official proceeding he makes a false statement under oath or equivalent affirmation, or swears or affirms the truth of a statement previously made, when the statement is material and he does not believe it to be true.What is PA Title 18 intimidation of a witness? ›
(1) The offense is a felony of the degree indicated in paragraphs (2) through (4) if: (i) The actor employs force, violence or deception, or threatens to employ force or violence, upon the witness or victim or, with the requisite intent or knowledge upon any other person.What are the 6 indicators of forgery? ›
Many simulations created with a model at hand will contain at least some of the general indicators of forgery, such as tremor, hesitation, pen lifts, blunt starts and stops, patching, and static pressure. They will have a slow “drawn” appearance.What are 3 types of forgery? ›
Forgery is the creation of falsified material or the altering of any writing with the purpose of defrauding or cheating. There are four basic types of forgery: traced, simulation, freehand and lifted.What are the 3 essential elements of forgery? ›
(falsity in the forgery context is a term of art that developed in the common law; the essential elements of the common law crime of forgery are (1) a false making of some instrument in writing; (2) a fraudulent intent; and (3) an instrument apparently capable of effecting a fraud; in addition to the common law ...What is a violation of Title 18? ›
Summary: Section 242 of Title 18 makes it a crime for a person acting under color of any law to willfully deprive a person of a right or privilege protected by the Constitution or laws of the United States.What crimes have no statute of limitations in Pennsylvania? ›
- Voluntary manslaughter.
- Felony murder.
- Vehicular homicide involving recklessness, hit-and-run, or gross negligence.
- Conspiracy if murder results.
- Solicitation if murder results.
- Rape involving victims under 18.
- Sex trafficking of victims under 18.
You may file a suit with a district justice if you have a complaint against a person or business and wish to recover an amount of money totaling $12,000 or less. This is called a civil lawsuit. The $12,000 limit does not in-clude the court costs involved in the suit, or any interest that may be due on your claim.What is a red flag on fraudulent financial reporting? ›
The most common warning signs include: Accounting anomalies, such as growing revenues without a corresponding growth in cash flows. Consistent sales growth while competitors are struggling. A significant surge in a company's performance within the final reporting period of a fiscal year.
RED Flag is a term used in forensic audit and it is an important tool for identifying potential risks, fraud and unethical activity. A forensic auditor will use RED Flag to identify potential problems. By studying the history of a company, the forensic auditor can compare the current activities against the past trends.What amount do checks get flagged? ›
These procedures exist to help prevent money laundering, counterfeit deposits and similar financial crimes from occurring. By requiring banks to report deposits of $10,000 or more, the government can more easily keep track of monetary transactions.What is the lowest felony in PA? ›
How Are Felonies Classified? The state of Pennsylvania classifies most felonies as first degree, second degree, or third degree. First degree felonies are the most serious and carry the most significant penalties, while third degree felonies are the least serious.What are the felony levels in PA? ›
Pennsylvania laws recognize three classes of felonies as 1st-degree (F1), 2nd-degree (F2), and 3rd-degree (F3) while penalizing murder convictions under different statutes. Felony convictions can have a significant impact on your life. Along with a longer prison sentence, felonies carry many additional consequences.What is considered a felony in PA? ›
In many cases, felony offenses involve significant bodily injury to others, but some drug, theft, and white-collar crimes are felonies in Pennsylvania. Some common examples of felony offenses include murder, rape, kidnapping, and several other types of criminal offenses.Can someone steal a check and cash it? ›
How do thieves cash stolen checks? One common method that thieves use is working with household chemicals to erase the ink on a check they have stolen. They can then write in a new payee's name and amount and cash the check. Typically, they might do this at an ATM or a currency exchange.What happens if someone writes a fraudulent check on my account? ›
Banks are generally required to reimburse customers for forged checks. However, based on individual circumstances, a bank can investigate to determine if the customer is entitled to a reimbursement. the customer's failure to exercise ordinary care substantially contributed to an alteration or forgery.What happens if you have a fraudulent check? ›
The bank can close or freeze your account.
If you deposit a fake check, your bank can decide to freeze or even completely close your account. Review your bank deposit account agreement to see in what scenarios your bank can close your account.
--A person commits an offense if, with the intent to or with the knowledge that his conduct will obstruct, impede, impair, prevent or interfere with the administration of criminal justice, he intimidates or attempts to intimidate any witness or victim to: (1) Refrain from informing or reporting to any law enforcement ...What is pa statute 18 4904 a1? ›
--A person commits a misdemeanor of the second degree if, with intent to mislead a public servant in performing his official function, he: (1) makes any written false statement which he does not believe to be true; (2) submits or invites reliance on any writing which he knows to be forged, altered or otherwise lacking ...
(1) An actor is presumed to know an access device is counterfeit, altered or incomplete if he has in his possession or under his control two or more counterfeit, altered or incomplete access devices.What is Title 18 obstructing roadway in PA? ›
--A person, who, having no legal privilege to do so, intentionally or recklessly obstructs any highway, railroad track or public utility right-of-way, sidewalk, navigable waters, other public passage, whether alone or with others, commits a summary offense, or, in case he persists after warning by a law officer, a ...What is PA Crimes Code Section 4952? ›
§ 4952. Intimidation of witnesses or victims.What is 18 pa cs 4952 4953? ›
--A person commits an offense if he harms another by any unlawful act or engages in a course of conduct or repeatedly commits acts which threaten another in retaliation for anything lawfully done in the capacity of witness, victim or a party in a civil matter. (b) Grading.What is Title 18 Section 5703 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes? ›
Section 5703 - Interception, disclosure or use of wire, electronic or oral communications, 18 Pa. C.S.What is PA statute 18 4104? ›
§ 4104. Tampering with records or identification.What is the pen code 4904? ›
Section 4904 - [Operative until 7/1/2024] Recommendation that appropriation be made for purpose of indemnifying claimant (a) If the evidence shows that the crime with which the claimant was charged was either not committed at all, or, if committed, was not committed by the claimant, or for claims pursuant to ...What is pa first time offenders? ›
ARD is considered a diversionary or “first time offender” program, designed to divert first time offenders for different charges like DUI in PA, DUI of a Controlled Substance, PA Drug Charges, or other crimes from entering the criminal justice system.What is the difference between PA code and statute? ›
The Pennsylvania Code is the Commonwealth's administrative code, and contains regulations created by Pennsylvania state agencies. Purdon's Pennsylvania Statutes is the Commonwealth's statutory code, and contains statutes passed by the Pennsylvania General Assembly.What are the grades of charges in PA? ›
In Pennsylvania, all crimes are grading as a summary (S), misdemeanor (M), or a felony (F) offense.
No, you cannot legally block your own driveway, but if you can prove that you just blocked your own driveway, the police are unlikely to penalize you unless there is an emergency and your obstructing car is preventing an emergency vehicle from entering the area.What does permitting violation of title mean in Pennsylvania? ›
75c1575s. § 1575. Permitting violation of title. (a) General rule. --No person shall authorize or knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by him or under his control to be driven in violation of any of the provisions of this title.